Charisteas signs with Agrinio club

Newly-promoted Super League side Panetolikos will have a European champion in their roster as Angelos Charisteas signed a contract with the Agrinio club this week. Panetolikos announced that Greece’s golden scorer in the Euro 2004 final has signed a one-year deal, “returning to Greece after a great career in some of the top European clubs.” “After nine years in Europe, where I played in great teams, I have made the decision to return to Greece,” said 32-year-old Charisteas, who was released by German Cup winners Schalke in June. “I have chosen Panetolikos and I am glad I will cooperate with people who love football. I hope my presence helps the team get better and reach their targets,” the state news agency quoted him as saying. Charisteas has 85 caps and 24 goals with Greece, from 2001 to 2010.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

